15 May 2015
Fort Detrick Volunteers Honored at Recognition Ceremony
By Nick Minecci, USAG Public Affairs

The Fort Detrick Volunteer Awards Ceremony was held April 20 at the Community Activities Center, honoring the members of the Fort Detrick community who volunteered approximately 10,000 hours of their time, representing a labor savings for our community of over $208,000.

Over 50 volunteers received Certificates of Appreciation signed by U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command and Fort Detrick Commanding General Maj. Gen. Brian C. Lein and acting Commander of U.S. Army Garrison Fort Detrick Col. Perry Clark. Individual President's Service Awards and Group President's Service Awards were presented to those volunteering between 100 to over 1,000 hours in 2014, and some volunteers also received Governor's Office on Volunteerism Certificates of Appreciation for their continued volunteer work in support of their community and Maryland.

"Our volunteers are Soldiers, spouses, kids, retirees, members of the community, civilian employees, contractors, etc.  They range in age from 4 - 80+ years young.  They are a vital part of many of our organizations on post and in the community," said Clark. "Volunteering not only supports the Fort Detrick community, but helps develop lasting relationships and links our hearts toward a common goal. When someone donates a handful of time, the difference made is tremendous and it shapes a community for the better while the experience improves the person who donated the time."

The 2014 Fort Detrick Volunteer of the Year, Joan Derk, was honored for not only displaying enthusiasm, commitment and selfless service, but for many years of continuously volunteering. Derk also received the Governor's Volunteer Service Certificate, signed by Governor Larry Hogan, in appreciation for her efforts, "to ensure the vitality of the community in which you volunteer, your contribution to the citizens of Maryland and your support of Maryland's longstanding tradition of community involvement."

Individuals recognized for their volunteer activities were:

John Wagner, Dolores Christie, Forest Whiting, Cameron Thoma, Benjamin Rubio, David Handwerker, Sara Handworker, Cynthia Gervasi, Sarah Vaughn, Maria Vaughn, Lisa Weed, Nancy Sanchez De Arriaga, Howard James, Lakeisha Mulheron, Parag Apte, Joan Derk, Stuti Ganatra, Sagar Matharu, Joshua Evans, Karl Busch, Mildred Busch, Michele Thomas, Belinda Afi, Garrett Grim, Sheila Brown, Terrence Gibson, Jason Sepanic, Jacob Sepanic, Anna Sepanic, Alton Bennett, Dennis Helmstetter, Vernon Kephart, Katherine Suarez, Brittany Branch-Smith, Thomas Starkoski, Jermaine Thomas, Jean Gonzalez, Jonelle Boye, Willetta Christian, Lorenzo Nichols, Chris Cason, Debbie Skvorak, Andrea Rander, Denis Garcia, Adaliza Pantoja-Bobe, Jessy Donaho, Sheila Chestnut, Gabriella Cantoni, James Frye, Charles Chipley, Michael Caselle, Carolyn Whittenburg, Anthony Malavenda, Allan Phillips, Miae Martinez, Higinio Martinez

Posted by Webmaster

For more Fort Detrick News, vist "The Standard"
   - the official newspaper for Fort Detrick.
For the full archive, visit http://www.dcmilitary.com/standard/

The Standard

Site Helpers


The Standard